Welcome to our site

A Word from the General Representative

Welcome and thank you for visiting our website.

Our delegation was created on 01 January 2015. You may be surprised to find the ‘Souvenir Français’ (‘French Remembrance’ in English) at the bottom of the French Hexagon, but this symbolises the philosophy of our organisation:

‘We wish to preserve the memory of those who fought valiantly to uphold freedom and order for France, whether they were French Natives or Foreigners.’

New Zealand has two graves of soldiers who meet this definition:

Firstly, Private Tetiamane ATEA, Tahitian ‘poilu’ (World War 1 French soldier) who died from a disease he contracted in service in September 1918 when his ship made a stopover in Wellington. He was buried with full military honours in the Karori cemetery by his NZ brothers in arms.

Secondly, Lieutenant-Colonel James Waddell, a New Zealander who fought with the French Foreign Legion for many years under the ‘kepi blanc’ (white-topped French military cap worn in the ‘Legion Etrangere’)[1]. He returned to New Zealand in his last years and died aged 82 at home in Levin, where he is buried.

Our organisation is determined to continue to raise up and preserve the memories of veterans who have fought for France with honour. In this we are supported by France, the Pacific French Territories and New Zealand.

For example, our delegation is proud to be an official partner of the exhibition ‘Never A Week Goes By – New Caledonia and New Zealand in World War I ‘ which travelled through New Zealand’s South Island in 2015 and in New Caledonia in 2016.

Finally, the delegation is willing to attend any commemorations to which it is invited.

On 11 November 2015, the Souvenir Français represented France in New Zealand, at the Armistice Day World War I Commemorations. This was organised by the Returned Services Association of Ruatoki who were honouring, in particular, two Maori veterans who distinguished themselves fighting for France (one in Flanders and the other in Le Quesnoy).

Our organisation is free from any political, religious or philosophical link, and is open to anyone who shares our values and aims, whether or not they are French.

Thank you for visiting our website. I hope you have found it interesting and informative.

Mr. Olivier SCHILLÉ
General Representative
Le Souvenir Français (NZ)

French website

Exposition

Shared histories

Bienvenue sur notre site Internet

Mot du Délégué Général

Bonjour et merci de votre visite sur notre site Internet.

Notre Délégation a été créée le 1er janvier 2015. La présence du Souvenir Français aux antipodes de l'Hexagone pourrait sembler surprenante mais elle s'inscrit pourtant pleinement dans la philosophie de notre organisation :

« La volonté de maintenir la mémoire de ceux qui, combattant de la liberté et du droit, sont morts pour la France, ou l’ont bien servie, qu’ils soient Français ou étrangers. »

La Nouvelle Zélande, abrite les sépultures de deux braves correspondant à cette définition.

L'un, le soldat Tetiamana ATEA, « poilu »Tahitien, est décédé d'une maladie contractée en service en septembre 1918, au cours d'une escale de son navire à Wellington. Il fut inhumé au cimetière Karori avec les honneurs militaires rendus par ses frères d'armes néo-zélandais.

L'autre, le lieutenant-colonel James WADDELL, d'origine néo-zélandaise, s'est illustré pendant de longues années sous le « képi blanc » de la Légion Étrangère. Il est décédé dans ses foyers en février 1954, à l'âge de 82 ans, et est enterré à Levin (nord de Wellington).

Résolument tourné vers l'avenir, notre action s'articule également autours de la promotion et l'organisation d'actions de mémoire combattante communes entre la France, les collectivités d'outre-mer françaises du Pacifique et la Nouvelle Zélande.

Nous sommes notamment partenaire de l'exposition « Never a week goes by - la Nouvelle Calédonie et la Nouvelle Zélande dans la 1ère guerre mondiale », qui a voyagé en Nouvelle Zélande en 2015, puis en Nouvelle Calédonie en 2016.

Enfin, la Délégation est présente aux commémorations auxquelles elle est conviée.

C'est ainsi que le 11 novembre 2015, le Souvenir Français représentait l'ambassade de France en Nouvelle Zélande, lors des Armistice Day WW1 Commemorations organisées par le Returned Services Association de Ruatoki.

A cette occasion, la mémoire de deux vétérans Maoris s'étant illustrés pendant la Grande Guerre (l'un en Flandres et l'autre à Le Quesnoy) y était honorée.

Notre organisation n’a aucune attache politique, confessionnelle ou philosophique, et est ouverte à toutes celles et à tous ceux qui, Français ou Étrangers, adhèrent à ces valeurs.

Je vous remercie de nous faire connaitre et vous souhaite une très bonne visite sur notre site.

Le Délégué Général

Olivier SCHILLÉ

Site national

Exposition

Shared histories